Update Read-Only Transactions Tutorial

Overview

A read-only transaction refers to transactions that are complete or awaiting approval and that cannot be edited. The main purpose of read-only transactions is to provide a consistent view of the data at a particular point in time, making it ideal for querying and reporting purposes.

💡These tutorials explain how to identify, change the status and modify read-only transactions.

Navigation

Main Menu > Accounting > Ledger

How to Recognise a Read-Only Transaction

  • Any Transaction, not only a Ledger transaction, can be in a read-only state.
  • When a transaction is in a read-only state, all the fields are greyed out and changes are not allowed.
  • Normally there is a banner at the top showing a Status of Complete or Reconciled.

How to Update a Read-Only Transaction

Warning

You must have the required access to change the status of a transaction.

Some transactions should not be changed (e.g. those included in a VAT reconciliation). Instead, create additional transactions to fix the entry.

  1. Click Status (button) and select Pending.
    • Note: This step might be the only one you need to take.
  2. If the transaction still cannot be edited, click Info (circle with an i) near the top right to see why the transaction is read-only.
  3. Undo the step that caused the transaction to become read-only:
    • For example, if the reason is: Allocations have been linked to the Transaction: click Clear (button) on the Allocation block (bottom left) to make the transaction editable.
  4. Edit the transaction.
  5. Click Done (button).

How to Update a Read-Only Transaction if a Password is Required

Note

Passwords are allocated under settings. If a password is not entered, the feature is disabled (see below).

Info

You do not have to set the transaction to Pending if you are using this feature.

  1. Click Actions (button) and select Edit Transaction (Password required).
  2. Enter the Password.
  3. Edit the fields as necessary.

How to Create a Password

  1. Go to Main Menu > Setup > Settings & Defaults.
  2. Under the first tab: Settings, scroll down to Accounting: Password to edit read-only Transactions in Ledger.
  3. Enter a password in the Value column.

Report an issue with this page

For more useful feedback, select the text on the page you're reporting about, then click Feedback again — or continue without selecting anything.