Default statuses manage certain conditions (see Default Statuses below).
Editing
Checkbox:
Checked: Records (e.g. transactions, service tickets) can be edited while in this status.
Unchecked: Records cannot be edited and become read-only.
For example, check this checkbox for Pending transactions. Uncheck it for Completed or Reconciled transactions.
Accounting
Checkbox:
Checked: Transactions are posted to the ledger.
Unchecked: Transactions are not posted to the ledger.
For example, uncheck this checkbox for Pending or Cancelled transactions. Check it for Active (optional) or Completed transactions.
Inventory
Checkbox:
Checked: The transaction updates inventory.
Unchecked: The transaction does not update inventory.
This option depends on the transaction and whether the inventory update is permanent (issued, received), or temporary (reserve). See screenshots below for some examples.
Approvals
If checklists and approvals are used, this feature changes the transaction's status as it is approved or declined.
Statuses can be selected for the following:
Approval: Select this option for the status that starts the approval, for example, a Pending status with Editing unchecked (see Setting up Approvals).
Approved: Select this option for Complete statuses on transactions that should no longer be edited.
Declined: Depending on the transaction, select this option for Pending statuses (so the transaction can be edited) or select this option for Cancelled statuses (so the transaction is set to a Cancelled status if not approved).