Grid Views

Overview

  • Data appears as tables, much like spreadsheets, using columns (Fields) and rows (Records).
  • The columns represent the various fields or attributes of the data, whereas the rows represent individual records or instances of the data.
  • To show records in the grid, set a Data Filter (optional) and click View (button), which is normally at the top right of the window.

Settings

User Settings

Navigation

Main Menu > Office > My Organisation > Double-click to open a Staff File > Settings (tab)

Note

The defaults are the values for new databases and new users. Your database may have different values.

Setting Description Default
General > Save Grid (All Users) - Access AllowedYes or No. Whether you can save a grid layout, or a Dashboard chart, for all users. Without it, the message "Access Denied. See Staff Settings > General > Save Grid (All Users) - Access Allowed" appears. Saving a layout for yourself does not need it.No
General > Export Grids and Email Excel - Access AllowedYes or No. Whether you can use Export Grid and Email Excel on a list's Menu button, and Email Excel on a Planning Board Stage (version 26.05 and later). Without it, the message "Access denied - See Staff Settings > Export Grids and Email Excel - Access Allowed." appears.No
General > Local drives - Access AllowedYes or No. Whether you can save to, or select files from, the drives of your own computer. Export Grid needs it; without it, the message "Access denied to local drives - See Staff Settings > Local drives - Access Allowed." appears. On an attachment, the button that browses for a local file is hidden.No

Column Layout

The layout and appearance of the columns can be changed as follows:

Resizing

  • The width of columns can be resized by dragging the dividing line between columns left or right.

Best Fit

  • To adjust a single column, right-click a column header and select Best Fit. This feature adjusts the column width to fit the widest content.
  • To adjust all the columns, right-click a column header and select Best Fit (all columns).

Reordering

  • Columns can be moved by clicking and holding the column header and then moving the column until green arrows appear. Release the mouse button to place the column there.

Ascending/Descending Order

  • The records in columns can be sorted in ascending or descending order by clicking the column header.

Adding and Removing Columns

  • To add or remove columns click the Field Chooser (*) in the first column. Check the checkboxes to add columns and uncheck the checkboxes to remove columns.
  • To remove a single column, right-click its header and select Remove This Column.
  • The Search bar appears at the left of the workspace, directly above the grid.
  • It only appears after the grid is populated (that is, after View (button) is clicked).
  • Full or part keywords can be entered the search block. The feature looks for the text in either all the records or only in the reference fields.
  • Applying grouping filters may temporarily suppress the search bar.

Removing a Search Keyword

  • To remove the search filter, click the x in the Search block. (The x turns red when you hover your mouse over it.)

Column Grouping

Group by Field

  • Entries in a column can be grouped by right-clicking a column header and selecting Group By This Field.
  • When grouped, the grouped column is switched to become the first column and the entries become headers that can be collapsed or expanded.

Removing 'Group by Field'

  • To remove the Group by Field feature, right-click the column header and select Remove from Grouping.
  • Alternatively, drag the column header back into the grid. However, using this option leaves the grouping field active.

Group by Box

  • This feature allows multiple layers of grouping. The records are grouped in the order in which the column headers are selected.
  • Right-click a column header and select Group by Box.
    • An empty field appears above the grid.
    • Drag the columns into this field in the order that you want to group them.
  • Use the small arrows next to the headers to collapse or expand the groups.

Group by Box-Reorder

  • Groups can be changed by clicking and holding a header and dragging it to a new position.

Removing a Field from a Group

  • Right-click a header and select Remove from Grouping.

Clear Group by Box

  • To remove the feature, right-click an empty space in the grouping bar and select Clear Grouping.

Filtering

Records in a column can be filtered by clicking the small filter icon in the right corner of the column header.

A dropdown list appears with all the entries. Check or uncheck the entries to display. The following options are also available:

  • Custom: Lets you customise the filters (see below).
  • Blanks: Displays records with no entries. Only available if some records are empty and some are completed.
  • NonBlanks: Displays only records with entries. Only available if some records are empty and some are completed.
  • Date options (e.g. yesterday, today): Only applicable to date columns.

Custom Filters

Click the Custom option to open a popup to apply multiple filtering options.

Saving Custom Filters

  • Custom Filters can be expanded and saved by clicking Customize (button) in the bottom left corner of the display.
  • The button only appears after a custom filter is created.

Removing Filters

Active filters appear in the footer. Click the red X next to the filters to clear them.

Alternatively look for the column that has a blue filter icon, click the icon and click All on the dropdown list.

Saving and Restoring Layouts

  • The grids have default layouts with the most used columns exposed, and the rest hidden. This layout is named the Default Grid.
  • You can change this layout and save those changes.
  • The functions to save or restore the grid are under Menu (button).
  • Different modules have different save and restore features and include one or more of these options:
    • Save Grid
      • Save Grid: Saves the grid for the current user.
      • Save Grid (All Users): Saves the grid for all the users.
    • Restore Grid
      • Restore Grid: Restores the grid for the current user to the last saved grid.
      • Restore Default Grid: Restores the grid for the current user to the default grid. Requires a restart to apply the changes.
      • Restore Default Grid (All Users): Restores the grid for all the users. Requires a restart to apply the changes.

Report an issue with this page

For more useful feedback, select the text on the page you're reporting about, then click Feedback again — or continue without selecting anything.