Approving Transactions Tutorial
Overview
💡This page describes how to approve transaction from the transaction interface.
Transactions can also be approved from the Approvals Module (Main Menu > Office > Approvals).
How to Approve Transactions
Info
In List View a column named Approval can be added using the Field Chooser (*): This column lists all the items that must be approved.
Transaction Edit View
If a Transaction has a Checklist, the header shows the checklist items. You can click the items to open the full checklist which lists the authorised users and dependencies.
The Approval Menu can be accessed by clicking the Approve button or arrow on the button. Functions include:
| Field | Description |
|---|---|
| Approve (button) |
|
| Update Checklist (Auto & Override) |
|
| Email Approval Request |
|
| Reset Checklist |
|
Checklist View
- The Checklist uses a colour icon to display the Status as follows:
- Red:
- An Auto Item which is not yet approved.
- A manual item which cannot be approved yet because the dependent items are not approved.
- Yellow:
- The Item is ready for approval (No outstanding dependencies).
- An authorised user can approve the item.
- Green:
- Indicates the item is approved.
- The User and Date/Time that the item was approved are listed in the Updated column.
- Grey:
- Indicates the item is declined.
- The User and Date/Time that the item was declined are listed in the Updated column.
- Ideally, add a note explaining why the checklist item was declined.
- Red:
- The second icon indicates the Item Type – M = Manual, A = Auto, O = Auto - Override.
- Right-click a checklist item or click the menu (…) button on the right to open the context menu which includes:
- Approve (List of Users): This item is only enabled when the item is ready for approval, and you are one of the item's users (you can also double-click an item to approve it). Auto items cannot be approved by hand.
- Decline (List of Users): This item is enabled unless the item is already declined. Only the item's users can decline it, and Auto items cannot be declined. Declining sets the transaction to the Declined Status.
- Reset (List of Users): Allowed if you are one of the item's users. Applicable to Manual, Limit and Override, but not to an Override item that was approved automatically. Resetting sets the transaction back to the Approval Status.
- Add Note: Lets you add a timestamped note to a Manual or Limit item.